+233 30 266 3595 info@adoa.org.gh

Our History

The Cathedral Church of the Most Holy Trinity, Accra (inset).

Built in 1894 the funding for this Cathedral came from the then British colonial government and was initially patronized by colonial expatriates. It was designed by Aston Webb. In 1909, the building acquired the status of a cathedral upon the creation of the Diocese of Accra.

Cathedral Church of the Most Holy Trinity

The Diocese of Accra, carved out of the Diocese of Equatorial Africa in 1909, was the fruit of the work of the United Society for the Partnership of the Gospel (USPG), which started in Cape Coast in 1751. Through some two centuries, the mission spread through the Gold Coast. In response to that growth, and consonance with the Anglican polity of “Synodically Governed and Episcopally led”, the Diocese of Accra was created in 1909. The succession of Diocesan bishops to date have been Rt. Rev. Nathaniel Temple Hamlyn (1909 –1910), Rt. Rev. Mowbray Stephen O’Rorke (1913 – 1923), Rt. Rev. John Orfeur Aglionby (1924-1951), Rt. Rev. John Charles Sydney Daly (1951 – 1955). Rt. Rev. Reginald  Richard Roseveare S. S. M (1956 – 1967). So for the duration of the colonial story of the Gold Coast, the Anglican Diocese was led by expatriate bishops who were, time and again, lampooned as colonial bishops. Though not officially established Church of the British Colonial nation, the Gold Coast Anglican Church appeared to be closest to the British government.

Ghanaian Leadership

With the metamorphosis of Gold Coast to the Sovereign independent nation of Ghana on 6th March 1957, the Diocese of Accra, which covered the whole landscape of Ghana, began to have Ghanaian leaders – Rt. Rev. Dr Ishmael Samuel Mills LeMaire (1968 – 1982) Rt. Rev. Francis William Banahene Thompson (1983 – 1996) and Most Rev. Dr Justice Ofei Akrofi (1996 – 2012). Rt. Rev. Dr Daniel Sylvanus Mensah Torto, the current Bishop, was consecrated on 24th June 2012 to succeed Most Rev. Dr Justice Ofei Yaw Akrofi, who retired on 29th October 2012

Two Diocesans were elevated to Archbishops

Diocese of Accra has been part of the Church of the Province of West Africa (CPWA) since its inception on April 17th 1951. The Diocese of Accra has provided two of the Archbishops – Most Rev. Dr I.S.M LeMaire (1981-82), the second African Archbishop of West Africa; and Most Rev. Dr J. O. Akrofi (2004-29 October 2012). Straddling the two offices was taxing and demanded the charism of a conductor of an orchestra and the ability to appreciate and encourage the use of others’ charisma.

Division of Diocese of Accra

In the episcopacy of Rt. Rev. Dr I.S.M. LeMaire, a number of Dioceses were carved out of the Diocese of Accra – Diocese of Kumasi June 1973; Dioceses of Cape Coast, Koforidua, Sekondi and Sunyani-Tamale in October 1981. So the Diocese of Accra has “daughters” and “granddaughters” like the Diocese of Ho, Wiawso, Sunyani, Tamale, Dunkwa-on-Offin. The presence of these “daughters” and “granddaughters” attest to the life, vibrancy, vitality and viability of the Diocese of Accra.